New feature request RealtimeSync: Multiple jobs

Discuss new features and functions
beltrams
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Aug 2014

Post by beltrams

I think it would be nice if we can specify multiple jobs in RTS, for example monitor folder set 1 and folder set 2 separate and trigger a batch job only on the set which has changed.

I know that I can achieve this with separate RTS instances running but it would be nice to have only one instance.

randomUser
Posts: 15
Joined: 29 Jan 2018

Post by randomUser

Vote +1

dave123
Posts: 3
Joined: 5 Feb 2018

Post by dave123

Vote +1

randomUser
Posts: 15
Joined: 29 Jan 2018

Post by randomUser

Right now, I have to start 4 realtimesync jobs ... my tray slowly becomes crowded

randomUser
Posts: 15
Joined: 29 Jan 2018

Post by randomUser

6 up to now.

I don't really understand why ALL folder pairs has to be available. RealtimeSync could monitor changes in every existing / available folder pair. Once it notices a change, the batch job is triggered and again - not available folder pairs are skipped.

Is that possible?

User avatar
InfinitusVox
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Jul 2019

Post by InfinitusVox

6 up to now.

I don't really understand why ALL folder pairs has to be available. RealtimeSync could monitor changes in every existing / available folder pair. Once it notices a change, the batch job is triggered and again - not available folder pairs are skipped.

Is that possible? randomUser, 15 Feb 2018, 09:11
Hi there! Please check out the full, step-by-step instructions I provided at the link below to configure FFS & RTS to sync multiple folder pairs (i.e., jobs). It should solve your problem! Good luck!

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=5635&p=21438#p21438

K

xCSxXenon
Posts: 417
Joined: 11 Jun 2019

Post by xCSxXenon

In layman's terms, just create one large batch job out of all the jobs you want.

randomUser
Posts: 15
Joined: 29 Jan 2018

Post by randomUser

Note 3: You can't enter multiple batch job files in the RTS command line. So, creating the singular batch job file and making updates to it, then overwriting the same old batch job file each time a change to the folders in FFS is made, is (probably) the best way to continuously auto-sync multiple folders with RTS.
It does NOT work as stated there. The problem is not to monitor multiple folders.

The problem comes up when you want to monitor multiple devices / drives and some of them are available, some are not available. It should sync at least the available ones...

xCSxXenon
Posts: 417
Joined: 11 Jun 2019

Post by xCSxXenon

Yeah I guess it would be nifty to have one icon that can pop up a GUI with the currently active monitored pairs and jobs. Having a systray full is clonky