FreeFileSync Error (Error Cannot move file)

Get help for specific problems
jimmacmillan
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Sep 2019

Post by jimmacmillan • 12 Sep 2019, 01:46

I've recently been seeing this error. I've checked both local and remote machines and don't see these files (with File Explorer set to show hidden files):

7:58:17 AM Error Cannot move file
"\\office\Users\James\Documents\My Documents~744c.ffs_tmp" to
"\\office\Users\James\Documents\My Documents.ffs_gui".
Error Code 183: Cannot create a file when that file already exists. [MoveFileEx]


Any idea what's going on?

Thanks
Jim

jimmacmillan
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Sep 2019

Post by jimmacmillan • 13 Sep 2019, 22:32

Anyone have any thoughts on this error? If it's relevant I'm running the Donation Edition.

Thanks
Jim

jimmacmillan
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Sep 2019

Post by jimmacmillan • 16 Sep 2019, 04:34

Very frustrated that I paid for this software and it doesn't work properly. I sent en eMail and posted here for help to the developer to no avail.

Very Disappointing :-(
Jim

User avatar
Zenju
Site Admin
Posts: 5042
Joined: 9 Dec 2007

Post by Zenju • 16 Sep 2019, 08:30

This is unlikely to be an FFS issue, but if you want I can have a look at a Process Monitor trace: https://freefilesync.org/faq.php#process-monitor

xCSxXenon
Posts: 84
Joined: 11 Jun 2019

Post by xCSxXenon • Yesterday, 20:13

Can you manually go into that folder and confirm whether that file exists or not?
Also, you donated, not paid for support.

jimmacmillan
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Sep 2019

Post by jimmacmillan • Yesterday, 20:23

xCSxXenon wrote:
Yesterday, 20:13
Can you manually go into that folder and confirm whether that file exists or not?
Also, you donated, not paid for support.
As mentioned in the Op "I've checked both local and remote machines and don't see these files (with File Explorer set to show hidden files)".

One would think that with a donation their post wouldn't have to be bumped. Nonetheless I'm not going to argue as I've already moved on.

xCSxXenon
Posts: 84
Joined: 11 Jun 2019

Post by xCSxXenon • Yesterday, 20:40

Are you able to move that file manually and attempt the sync again?