Delete before copy

Discuss new features and functions
anderegg
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Jul 2020

Post by anderegg

Would it not make sense for the deletion of files from the destination, to take place first, before the new files are syncronized to the target drive. I use FFS for Windows Media Center, to backup TV programs to an HDD, and fragmentation seems to be more likely if the large video files are not deleted prior to the new files looking for free space to park their 10-20GB.

Paul
VladimirII
Posts: 33
Joined: 14 Jul 2020

Post by VladimirII

In case of an error or power failure while synchronising, deleting prior copying is finished would create more anger.

Make enough space free before you synchronise. You can also delete using the context menu in freefilesync. If it is a SSD/M.2 there is no fragmentation, or better no speed loss.

You can try option 'fail-safe file copy' to uncheck, it might help you already.