Icons for Linux .desktop files (menu items)

Discuss new features and functions

MartinPC

BACKGROUND and DISCLAIMER: I am just starting to learn Linux and am running Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon x64 in a VirtualBox guest (on a Windows 7 x64 host) to get my feet wet. My post and questions may well prove to be "stupid."

I manually installed FreeFileSync 10.2 for Linux x64 in my Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon virtual machine, using the tarball provided at FreeFileSync.org and following the tutorial provided at TutorialForLinux, titled "How to Install FreeFileSync on Linux Mint 19." (The version of FreeFileSync in Linux Mint's repository is a Flatpak app. I've read that it's old and has issues. Besides, 10.2's new option to automatically cap the number of versioned backups is important to me.) The installation went fine.

I created Cinnamon menu items for FreeFileSync and RealTimeSync using Cinnamon's built-in menu editor. That went fine, too, except that the new menu items had generic icons instead of the green circular double arrow for FFS and the red circular double arrow for RTS.

When I attempted to assign custom icons to the new .desktop files, I discovered that icons for FreeFileSync had not been extracted when the program's tarball was decompresed, but were instead left (along with other program icons) in the program directory's unzipped Resources.zip file. I extracted suitable icons myself and put them in a new Icons subdirectory in FreeFileSync's program directory. Then I was able to select "custom" icons for my new menu items. (I ended up choosing FFS_tray_24x24.png and RTS_tray_24x24.png.)

I guess my question is: Why aren't suitable .desktop-file icons extracted as part of the original decompression process? Is this something that is typically left to a distro-specific installer? Leaving the icons zipped and hidden seems like a small but annoying additional obstacle to a satisfying manual install -- at least for Linux newbies like me.