how to work with sync.ffs_lock protection on NAS

Get help for specific problems

smithcferg

I want to sync every computer at home to a master file that is located on a NAS network share. I am new to freefilesync and could not find out how to use this properly. Running Win10x64 and NAS is Netgear RN214 running ReadyNAS OS6. Using the current freefilesync v10.12.

I am testing with two computers that are bidirectionally syncing the same database file to a file on a nas, using RTS(x64) scheduled to start on log on with a .real file through Windows Scheduler. When only one computer is running there is no problem with this setup. The monitoring process watches both the Network Share directory and the local computer directory for changes and correctly adds, deletes, and syncs files in the directories. When both scheduled RTS processes (same setup) start monitoring/synchronizing, a locked file appears on the NAS, and everything grinds to a halt.

I have other computers I need to also set this up on, so that the latest database will be updated to all computers. Is there a way that I can set this up without removing the locked file access protection mechanism? Is this mechanism superfluous in this situation?

Thanks for your help, Craig

smithcferg

Better explanation of my use case: