launch FFS from Linux Mint Cinnamon command line

Get help for specific problems

JohnHaggerty

Hi folks,

I've been running FFS manually for a couple of months now since I switched from Windows to Linux - and very pleased with it I am too. I created a desktop shortcut as part of the installation and have been using that to launch.

Following on from an earlier Forum post (variables in filenames) I'm in the process of creating a script to run FFS with specific output filenames. I am running FreeFileSync 10.14 (Build: 16/07/19 – Unicode x64) but have been unable to launch it from the command line so far.

Trying to run the desktop icon command entry manually fails whether run as the default user (john), FreeFileSync or root:

john@john-K30BF-M32BF:~$ cd Desktop
john@john-K30BF-M32BF:~/Desktop$ ls -al
<snip>
-rwxr-xr-x 1 john john 404 Jun 28 11:30 org.freefilesync.FreeFileSync.desktop
<snip>
john@john-K30BF-M32BF:~/Desktop$ cat org.freefilesync.FreeFileSync.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Name=FreeFileSync
GenericName=Folder Synchronization
Comment=Visual folder comparison and synchronization
Exec=/usr/bin/flatpak run --branch=stable --arch=x86_64 --command=FreeFileSync --file-forwarding org.freefilesync.FreeFileSync @@ %F @@
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Icon=org.freefilesync.FreeFileSync
Categories=Utility;
StartupNotify=true
X-Flatpak=org.freefilesync.FreeFileSync

john@john-K30BF-M32BF:~/Desktop$ /usr/bin/flatpak run --branch=stable --arch=x86_64 --command=FreeFileSync --file-forwarding org.freefilesync.FreeFileSync @@ %F @@
Gtk-Message: 10:34:59.878: Failed to load module "atk-bridge"
FreeFileSync – Error – Cannot find file "/home/john/Desktop/%F".

john@john-K30BF-M32BF:~/Desktop$ su FreeFileSync
No passwd entry for user 'FreeFileSync'
john@john-K30BF-M32BF:~/Desktop$ /usr/bin/flatpak run --branch=stable --arch=x86_64 --command=FreeFileSync --file-forwarding org.freefilesync.FreeFileSync @@ %F @@
Gtk-Message: 10:35:16.435: Failed to load module "atk-bridge"