Error starting a new run after stopping the previous on - Lock is on

Discuss new features and functions
AlainCh2
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 May 2019

Post by AlainCh2

No idea why to-day is so error prone.

I stopped the previous run.... excluded a Problematic directory, then launched it again.

No way to get rid of the error
a) stopped then manually delete both files in sending and receiving directory.
b) checked computer date/time

Lost me completely.

Alain
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Plerry
Posts: 988
Joined: 22 Aug 2012

Post by Plerry

See the FFS Manual section on Expert Settings for an explanation on the LockDirectoriesDuringSync flag and *.ffs_lock files.
After having completed a sync, FFS removes the *.ffs_lock file it has created.
If you abort an FFS job in an unregular fashion, that FFS instance is not able to remove the *.ffs_lock file it created when starting the job, and keeps the sync location locked.
At least as admin-user you should normally be able to delete any remnant *.ffs_lock files.
You may, after careful consideration, possibly even conclude that for your use case, you can safely set the LockDirectoriesDuringSync flag to False.

AlainCh2
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 May 2019

Post by AlainCh2

Ok, Thanks !!!
---- just a short answer:
If I use (STOP) I expect FFS will delete it's own lock.
That maybe didn't happen, but not sure. see below.

I then deleted manually BOTH locks.
Relaunching the same job will created the two .locks, (correctly I supposed)
then went in "error waiting for locks"
- did three time with same results.

Started testing without a proper clue, but 40 years in IT helps.

Solved using this tecnique (after 4 different unsuccessful tests)

1) Delete manually Both .locks files
-(sending & receiving dir)
2) Deleted all the job in FFS & also current one
- (if you leave them. and do the other steps. it'll never works)
3) Closed FFS & checked no other instances were running
- (never found other instance)
4) Re.launched FFS - it finally started clean with no job
5) opened my .Batch
6) Launched it
- worked as expected

It may be some spurious where creating the .locks and the main finding them stopped.

Hope it help

Alain

MonicaMarike
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Jul 2020

Post by MonicaMarike

Hello Alain,

We have deleted all .lock files manually but we have no idea how to delete all jobs in FFS. Could you help us with this?

AlainCh2
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 May 2019

Post by AlainCh2

Select one in this area,
hit Canc

Done

Alain
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

MonicaMarike
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Jul 2020

Post by MonicaMarike

Hi Alain,

We have tried several times but we can't select anything in that area. The only thing I can do is double click on last session, that gives me an error message. Clicking one time doesn't do anything. How did you select last session?

xCSxXenon
Posts: 443
Joined: 11 Jun 2019

Post by xCSxXenon

Also, that lock is created by SYSTEM, and you definitely aren't running FFS as SYSTEM while in the GUI. Do you have a scheduled task? If that is creating the LOCK files and getting stuck, or taking a long time, or crashing, it will cause what you have described. I'm guessing since you deleted the config files, the task can't actually run, so the LOCK files don't get created, thus no more problem. I would bet your event viewer shows a bunch of failed tasks though.

Monica, click the [Last session] once, then {DEL} on your keyboard. That removes it. It wouldn't solve this problem though

AlainCh2
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 May 2019

Post by AlainCh2

@ Monica

Hahaaha..
I'm still laughing by myself- I usually do "screenShot"
NEVER DONE A "ScreenVid"" hahahaha

(I did it FOR YOU !!!)

Cannot attach it - too large-
Please check the link and report back if it works!!
Thanks
Alain

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kqsqdhxpbp5bjt6/2020-08-02%2017.31.11.mp4?dl=0

@Xenon

Yes, correct
FFs is managed twice a day by a timed event in taskmgr (11:50 - 18:45)

now its 10 days it doesnt run anymore .. need to check why.

There are errors on the PostLog bat file not executing also

no idea Right now.
I'll update later

Alain

MonicaMarike
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Jul 2020

Post by MonicaMarike

Thanks so much for your video! We managed to delete the last session finally, but after closing the program and opening again the last session is back. We have tried several times. So it doesn't seem to start clear with no job. I guess this means it still won't work?

AlainCh2
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 May 2019

Post by AlainCh2

@monica
hmmm.
do you launch FFs (1)
2020-08-03 00 28 03.jpg
or
do you launch a Batch (2)
2020-08-03 00 28 51.jpg
or a Job???

For me after deleting last job, and closing FFs, when I reopen it there is nothing.(3)
2020-08-03 00 30 00.jpg
Last session as you can see contains las run data
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.