Possible causes for MTP syncing failures

Get help for specific problems

Lyrus

Hi Zenju,

I have been using FFS for many years and I'm happy with it, but I am resigned to the fact that the MTP syncing doesn't work.

And I see that even for other people doesn't work. I tried with every new version and with various phones. Does it work only in phones with root permissions? (Never tried one)

However I tried some tests last time with version 11.8 and I did some considerations.

In a folder on the PC I put these files:
A.txt
B.txt
C.txt
D.txt

And I synchronized it with a folder on mobile. It went well and so at the beginning the two folders were identical.
Then I made various tests consisting, for example, of:

Delete A.txt from the PC
Delete B.txt from the Phone
Edit C.txt on PC
Edit D.txt on Phone

I do not describe all the tests in detail but only some that seem to have significance.

After the first synchronization all subsequent ones did not work. The comparison is fine but when the synchronization is launched, as described by other people too, FFS get stuck and does not go ahead. You have to disconnect the phone and reconnect it.

I remembered that FFS can do what you can do manually with File Explorer. And what can't be done manually even FFS can't do.
And I also reminded that if I open a file on the phone directly from the PC and I modify it, then I can't save it. I have to save as a new file.

So may be that FFS freeze because it opens the sync.ffs_db database on the phone, modifies it and then tries to save.

To test it I made a comparison, then I deleted the database on the phone, then I launched the synchronization. And it worked! (FFS writes a new sync.ffs_db on the phone)

I thought I solved the MTP problem at least with the workaround of deleting sync.ffs_db on the phone just before starting syncing. But unfortunately it wasn't so because FFS also freezes in other cases: