FreeFileSync cannot see mounted NAS share in Fedora 37

Get help for specific problems

doalffs

Hi all,

I updated my computer to Fedora 37 and installed FreeFileSync v11.28 from FlatHub.

I've been using FFS for many years for backing up my files to a NAS Share.
I do not keep the share permanently mounted in Fedora, I only mount it when I want to do a backup.

In the past, I would first mount the share in Nautilus file manager, then open FFS and it would appear as a destination. Now, even if I have mounted the share in Nautilus, the share does not appear in FFS at all.

The NAS has the IP address 10.10.10.6 and the share is called "backup", so I assume I could enter any of the following and one would work:
/run/user/1000/gvfs/smb-share:server=10.10.10.6,share=backup
or
//10.10.10.6/backup
or
smb://10.10.10.6/backup
but none of these works.

Has something changed?
Is there a way to manually add the share's full path to FFS?

therube

Maybe the IP simply has changed, so instead of .6, it is now .5 (or whatever)?

If you:

ls //10.10.10.6/backup
ping 10.10.10.6

are results returned?
(I don't know if that would be valid for ls, but if not, then some other utility...)

(Long out of my league here, but, /etc/mtab or something like that?)

doalffs

Yes, the NAS can be accessed as normal through the command line. I can also access all the share's files from the file manager, copy/paste/delete/rename etc.
It's only when trying to choose the share as a destination folder in FFS that the problem appears.

bgstack15

If your SMB share is now mounted, it is accessible via a regular directory path. I would be very surprised if the path includes that string you mention with the colon, equal sign, and comma. A nice trick I use to learn the path to something is:
df -PBM
This shows disk space for all mounted drives. The flags are esoteric. The point is to list disk space for all mount points. Use the visible path for the mounted drive, as the path in FreeFileSync.

doalffs