Sync from multiple folders ("virtual folder) to one

Discuss new features and functions

opemeister

Hi,

I'd like to achieve the following, but I'm not sure it's possible with FFS:

* I have a "master" backup on a large external HDD. Let's say there's one large folder "pictures-master" with a LOT of pictures.
* I also have subsets of the pictures scattered across multiple other locations. E.g. "pictures-1" and "pictures-2" on different partitions, both containing one half of the pictures in "pictures-master"

I want to regularly sync all the pictures-x folders to "pictures-master". Ideally, I would select all the "pictures-x" folder on the left side, the "pictures-master" on the right and use the 'update' sync option. Then, FFS would check, if pictures-master contains the sum of all the pictures-x folders and copy those over that are missing.
Essentially, I want FFS to treat multiple folders as a single 'virtual folder' against which I can compare the master.

Is something like this possible? I can only select multiple sync pairs, but that doesn't seem to solve my issue.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Plerry

If all pictures in your "pictures-master" are in one-and-the-same directory, you need to use the Update sync variant or a Custom sync variant; not the Mirror variant.

In the Update variant X => Master, if a newer version of a file exists on the Master, those changes will not be synced to X. This may be quite OK if each of your files is only created and edited on a unique X-machine (e.g.: file23 and file67 are always edited on machine 1; file12, file 15 and file 29 are always edited on machine 2; etc.).

In a Custom sync variant, you would need to select:
for the category "Item exists on left side only" choose the action "Copy new item to right"
for the category "Left item is newer" choose the action "Update right item"
for the category "Conflict/ item can not be categorized" choose whatever best suits your use case.