Inquiry About License Policy Change

Get help for specific problems

fer5242

Thank you for developing an excellent program. I have questions regarding the license policy change.
1) Is the Business version priced at 20 euros per device a perpetual license that supports updates for one year?
2) Is using the Standard version prohibited in a commercial environment for version 13 below?
Site Admin

Zenju

1) Is the Business version priced at 20 euros per device a perpetual license that supports updates for one year? fer5242, 15 Sep 2023, 07:49
That's what it says in the FAQ, doesn't it? https://freefilesync.org/faq.php#business

2) Is using the Standard version prohibited in a commercial environment for version 13 below? fer5242, 15 Sep 2023, 07:49
Not sure if retroactively changing terms would be even possible, legally. Anyway the license changes apply to version 13 and later.

Larcc1

Hello,
I have been using FreeFileSync Standard version for many years and I am very grateful for that.
2) Is using the Standard version prohibited in a commercial environment for version 13 below? fer5242, 15 Sep 2023, 07:49
Not sure if retroactively changing terms would be even possible, legally. Anyway the license changes apply to version 13 and later. Zenju, 15 Sep 2023, 07:58
Does the above answer mean that FreeFileSync Standard version before the License Policy Change (before version 13 - Please correct me if wrong) is still free for commercial use? when the old policy stated:-
Is FreeFileSync free for commercial use?
Yes, FreeFileSync may be used in business, commercial, and government environments without cost. This however does not apply to the "FreeFileSync Donation Edition" which is intended for private use only.
Thank you.

Plerry

@Larcc1
Obviously, as Zenju writes
Anyway the license changes apply to version 13 and later.

Larcc1

Thank you Plerry for the confirmation.

Larcc1