"Both sides have changed" problems with backups

Get help for specific problems

Kannmann97

I am on a Mac M3 Pro running Sonoma14.4

I am a video editor trying to backup my Final Cut Pro (.fcp bundle) files to two ssds (SSD1 and !SSD2)

Even when I haven't opened a file on either of the hard drives, when I go to sync via an Update protocol I always get the error code "both files have changed"

I manually go to each file in the ffs comparison chart and change the lightning bolt to "Update" but this is becoming tedious.

My question is 2 fold.
1) why does ffs do this when nothing has actually changed? It has prevented me from having an ul to date FCP project file on my backups and everything is correct (filters, settings, files have been untouched etc) is it the nature of the .fcp bundle automatically and independently changing on its own? I know some file bundles can be funny with FFS
2) can I just run the Update protocol with the "use database" box unchecked? Will this create issues for me?

All I need is to be able to backup my most current FCP project files automatically to both SDD from computer or from one SSD1 to the backup (!SSD2)

Any help would be great

Plerry

The "Both sides have changed" notification only can occur when using a database.
In previous versions of FreeFileSync (FFS), by default the database was only used in the Two-way sync variant, in which it is mandatory. Since FFS version 13.x, the database is by default also used in the Mirror and Update sync variant.
The benefit for the Mirror variant is that renaming or moving of files and folders at the source-side will simply result in a renaming or move at the target-side, rather than a (generally much slower) delete and recopy.
For the Update variant, it has the same effect, so at the target side you will not be stuck with two copies, one under the old name or in the old location, and one with the new name or in the new location.