Syncing Local Folders with Network Folders ?

Get help for specific problems

Chipmunk

Hi, I'm new to this program. I was suggested this program after I was informed to use a Sync program as Symbolic links wouldn't suffice to what I wanted. I have two questions; first question, how do I setup freefilesync so there is always a sync between two folders whether those folders are local or in my case on a network without manual intervention ? And this probably isn't so much a question as, I assume freefilesync must be running at all times to accomplish my question ?

Plerry

FreeFileSync (FFS) only syncs between specified locations at the time it is run;
it does not and should not run continuously.
RealTimeSync (RTS) is a tool that comes with FFS, that runs as a background task, "continuously" monitoring selected folders (and its subfolders) for any changes, and launch (e.g.) a run of FFS upon detecting any changes.

Chipmunk

In Order to use Real-Time Sync, I must have a command line but before I can have a command line I must create a ffs_batch file ?

Does Real-Time sync run in the system tray so it's always active ?

Plerry

Sure, you must first "develop" and check your desired FFS sync, and then save it as ffs_batch file.
RTS needs to call the FFS executable and pass the ffs-batch filename as parameter.

RTS runs from the moment being launched, until you kill the RTS task by signing off or restarting your PC.
If you want RTS to run "always" when you're logged on, you can add it to AutoStart,
or always when your PC is on, you can add it to the Task Scheduler and launch it at startup.
In the latter case, mind that you provide proper user credentials under which the task is to be run, having the proper read and write access in the relevant locations.

Chipmunk

Error When trying to sync within command prompt;
T: is a network folder/directory. What am I doing wrong ?
As laid out here https://freefilesync.org/manual.php?topic=command-line;
For Step 1.