Automatic Sync and Open Command Window

Get help for specific problems

alanbo

This is a great piece of software - just what I needed to keep two laptops in sync. I managed to set up automatic syncing with the help of mfreedberg, 25 Jan 2013, 23:19 in the Help forum and his/her very useful two scenarios.

I managed to set up suppression of the popup window with the help of hiroo916, 17 Jun 2014, 08:25, also in the Help forum, and also an illustration in an article called "How to Run FreeFileSync's RealtimeSync 24/7 as a Windows Service with AlwaysUp" from Core Technologies Consulting.

However, I am not very tech savvy, I was disappointed to read the advice to RTFM, because although I managed to set up all the above I didn't understand the reasons for everything I was doing - not very au fait with command line, batch files, etc.

What I cannot figure out from the manual or forum posts is this: when RealTimeSync is running there is a command window running with this text in it: C:\windows\System32>"c:\program files\freefilesync\RealTimeSync.exe" "c:\myscripts\MyRealTimeSyncSetup.ffs_real", and task manager shows the Windows Command Processor with sub processes:

Console Window Host
RealTimeSync - Real-Tme Command Line Launcher
RealTimeSync - Real-Tme Command Line Launcher (32 bit)
Windows Command Processor

Sometimes there are two FreeFileSync - Folder Comparison and Synchronisation processes as well, one 32 bit and one not. Sometimes one or more of these processes are greyed out.

Does this command window have to stay open? If I close it then all the processes are terminated, and no sync occurs. Why are there two RealTimeSync and FreeFileSync processes - one sometimes greyed out? Is there any way that this popup window can be suppressed?

taob