variables in filenames

Get help for specific problems

JohnHaggerty

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie who has just migrated from Win 10 to Mint 19. On Windows I used SyncBackSE for backups and will be using FreeFileSync on Mint.

I've had a read of external-applications and topics p11941, p10555, p20842, etc. but they don't seem cover what I'd like to do. (I realise I can write a script to set %Right_Target_Path% and run it using a command line but I was hoping for something easier/simpler.)

The setup I had on Windows, and which I'd like to replicate with FFS, was as follows:
- each source (e.g. C:\live_files\*.*) had a primary and a secondary mirror and was copied on a schedule to separate SSDs (F: and G:)
- non-volatile data (e.g. archives, music) was backed up to a non-time-differentiated directory structure - e.g. F:\music_backups\
- volatile data was backed up to daily, weekly, monthly and annual backup directory structures - e.g. F:\daily_backups\Mon\, F:\weekly_backups\Week_1\, F:\monthly_backups\Jan\, F:\annual_backups\2019\, etc.

Given the age of the earlier posts I suspect that this isn't something that's in the pipeline at present.

All help will be most welcome.

(There's a full list of SyncBackSE variables, etc. on the 2brightsparks website.)

Regards,

John

Plerry

Did you check out the use of Macros ?

JohnHaggerty

Thanks Plerry,

As I said, I'm a newbie.

I can use %year%, 'month_%month%' (instead of 'Jan', etc.), and %weekday% (instead of 'Sun', etc.).

I can also use 'week_%week%' but, as there's no %WEEKOFTHEMONTH% equivalent, I'll need to manipulate it so as to cycle every few weeks, or keep only the last few weekly backups.

Regards,

John

Gianni1962

Try resubmitting this as a [Feature Request] in the "General discussion" section giving also this link as a reference:
Variables defined/managed by SyncBack

But probably you can create the few variables you need in a .bat script that than launches FFS.

JohnHaggerty

Hi Gianni,