Cannot prevent Shutdown from "Run a Command - On Completion"

Get help for specific problems

Bordonbert

Hi. My problem is with Version: 11.8, 64 bit, on PC Windows 10.

I'm new to FreeFileSync and have just set up my first backup task saved as a batch file. There is no problem in setting up the task to do what I want, it is remarkably clear in most aspects. However, every time it runs it completes successfully but the PC is shut down and won't respond to any wake up actions as it normally does.

In the task settings I have "Run a command" showing "On Completion" as it seems the best of the 3 options to choose. The others are "On Errors" and "On Success". There is no option available to just do nothing. I cannot remove the "Example: shutdown /s /t 60" from the editbox. If I click into the editbox it empties but when I click out the Example is put back in again greyed out and it seems as though it is acting on that.

Is there some sort of a null command needed to be put in there to tell the FFS to do nothing when it completes, or is there maybe something subtle about this I am missing?

Plerry

> There is no option available to just do nothing.
Simply leaving the Command Line box blank (=showing the grayed out "Example: shutdown /s /t 60") will execute the empty command line and do nothing, irrespective of selecting "On Completion", "On Errors" or "On Success".

If you are running a saved *.ffs_batch file, re-save the FFS batch file and make sure that the "When Finished" field is blank and not "System: Sleep" or "System: Shut down".

Bordonbert

Got it!

Thanks for replying Plerry, you confirmed what I already thought would be the case but the actions didn't follow what I had carefully selected in Synchronisation Settings. However, I've just rechecked the batch file setup - again - and I've found my mistake.