I am attempting to sync between a local folder and a mounted network drive
using the path "smb://server/share" as reported in Nautilus, but FreeFileSync
reports "directory does not exist". What am I doing wrong?
can't sync to Ubuntu network mount
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 3 Oct 2010
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7532
- Joined: 9 Dec 2007
FFS uses standard fopen/fclose/fread functions, therefore it requires regular
directories as input. Mounting a samba share locally as a folder should do.
directories as input. Mounting a samba share locally as a folder should do.
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 3 Oct 2010
I'm having some difficulties doing this using "smbmount //server/share
directory -o user=server_user,pass=server_pass,rw". error is "no ip address
specified and host not found".
directory -o user=server_user,pass=server_pass,rw". error is "no ip address
specified and host not found".
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 7 Jul 2011
I have the same problem. For some crazy reason, FreeFileSync attempts to
create an intermediate folder directly after the source folder that you are
trying to sync (i.e. home\FFS 2011-07-13 085103\). The strange new folder
has FFS then the date-time. And finally, the program cannot create the folder
and fails.
Do any of the Dev know why this happens?
Thanks
create an intermediate folder directly after the source folder that you are
trying to sync (i.e. home\FFS 2011-07-13 085103\). The strange new folder
has FFS then the date-time. And finally, the program cannot create the folder
and fails.
Do any of the Dev know why this happens?
Thanks
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 7 Jul 2011
Oh, and I do have the share mounted locally...
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7532
- Joined: 9 Dec 2007
> For some crazy reason
The reason is performance and this directory is only created if files to be
deleted are existing. After the end of the synchronization, this folder is
moved to recycle bin. You can use a different handling of deletion than
"recycle bin" to avoid this.
The reason is performance and this directory is only created if files to be
deleted are existing. After the end of the synchronization, this folder is
moved to recycle bin. You can use a different handling of deletion than
"recycle bin" to avoid this.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7532
- Joined: 9 Dec 2007
Just checked the sources: failing to create this temporary folder should not
lead to an error, but revert to "ordinary" recycle bin usage (even if this may
be quite slow). I've fixed this for 3.19!
lead to an error, but revert to "ordinary" recycle bin usage (even if this may
be quite slow). I've fixed this for 3.19!
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 7 Jul 2011
Thanks for the fix, I'll try it out. And sorry about the "crazy" part. I
simply use that phrase too frequently.
simply use that phrase too frequently.