Versioning Maximum doesn't work

Get help for specific problems
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Sep 2026

BergTal

Old folders are not deleted when the maximum is reached.

I have a backup folder that is mirrored with a server's save folder. Every two days, the FreeFileSync batch file is executed via the Windows Task Scheduler. Existing data is moved to versioning folders; a maximum of 5 versions(folders) should be kept, with the oldest being deleted thereafter.

The problem: The older versions(folders) are not being deleted.

I would appreciate any help; thank you.

Here are some more screenshots.
Screenshot 2026-09-19 113538.png
Screenshot 2026-09-19 113610.png
Screenshot 2026-09-19 115244.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Posts: 3017
Joined: 22 Aug 2012

Plerry

Versioning deletes files from your Versioning locations.
It does not delete folders (once those become empty).

So, in your use case with the naming convention Time Stamp [Folder] (Zeitstempel [Ordener]) and "Limit file versions" set to a Maximum of 5, a file gets deleted from a timestamped folder (or one of its subfolders) once 5 more recent previous versions of that file exist in timestamped versioning folders with a more recent timestamp (than the timestamped folder the file gets deleted from).

Once a timestamped folder (or any of its subfolders) becomes empty, because of all files it used to comprise 5 more recent previous versions exist in any more recently dated timestamped folders, such then empty timestamped folder does not get deleted.

Note that the setting reads "Limit file versions", not "Limit file/folder versions".
Its main purpose is to prevent that the total data size of your Versioning location(s) keeps growing, as more and more previous versions of files are retained.
The data-size of multiple empty folders is generally neglectable.

This behavior is identical to what FreeFileSync does in synchronization locations.
If a left- or right-side base location or any of its subfolders becomes empty due a synchronization action, such then empty folder does not get deleted.
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Sep 2026

BergTal

Thanks for the reply

Okay, I misunderstood that then.

So, it isn't possible to use versioning on the mirrored folder (`Saves_Backup`) to generate a copy that gets stored in the versioning folder (`Saves_Backup_Versionierung`)—where the oldest copy is deleted once there are more than five copies in the folder?
User avatar
Posts: 3017
Joined: 22 Aug 2012

Plerry

> So, it isn't possible to use versioning on the mirrored folder (`Saves_Backup`) to generate a copy that gets stored in the versioning folder (`Saves_Backup_Versionierung`)—where the oldest copy is deleted once there are more than five copies in the folder?

Yes, that's possible, but then you need to select Time Stamp [File] ((Zeitstempel [Datei]?) under "Limit file versions", not Time Stamp [Folder] (Zeitstempel [Ordener]).
In that case all previous versions of a given file are saved into the same folder (using the folder tree stucture relative to the left- and right base location. The most recent previous version is then saved under its original name, earlier version under the original name with a date addition.
In your case a maximum of 5 previous versions will be retained in one and the same folder.
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 7566
Joined: 9 Dec 2007

Zenju

Versioning deletes files from your Versioning locations.
It does not delete folders (once those become empty). Plerry, 19 Sep 2026, 10:56
That's not true. Empty folders *are* deleted by Versioning.

Old folders are not deleted when the maximum is reached. BergTal, 19 Sep 2026, 10:02
You're misunderstanding "maximum". This is maximum version count per file, not "number of syncs".