Open Source? Is it true ?

Discuss new features and functions

Leozen

Hello,
I wonder about the "open source" qualifier (and the security that normally follows) of FreeFileSync. Although free and said to be open source by its designer, I just spent 2 hours looking for the sources of this software to check the content.
Nothing. Unable to find updated sources. Either I missed something or it's hiding something!
I don't know of any open source software whose sources are impossible to find or are so hidden.
I want to be denied! In the meantime,
Best regards

bgstack15

Zenju uses the GPL-3.0 primarily for his source code (version 12.3, the current version listed at the Download page). Additionally some components he licenses under the OpenSSL license, curl license, something labeled the libssh2 license (which vaguely resembles the MIT to me at first glance; I'm not a lawyer though), and a PuTTY license.

Nobody ever said source code must be provided in a scm repository. GPL uses the concept of "reasonable delivery" iirc, and tarballs satisfy this license requirement. If you're absolutely convinced that you want to see an scm repo, check out the mirrors at github/hkneptune/FreeFileSync and gitlab.com/opensource-tracking/FreeFileSync (my mirror).

I'm assuming the donation version is not GPL 3 because nobody's ever seen the source code for those extra bits.

Now that I think about it, the source tarball takes a modicum of effort to download (presumably because of the cloudflare/similar bot protection stuff) with wget or curl. I just slap a generic Mozilla X11 user agent and then I can get the tarball from Zenju's site.

lesley

This "says" open source, but looks like no one can actually compile it. I haven't tried yet, but the code and repository looks awfully "simple" for something that is supposed to work on Windows, Mac, AND Linux.